Mention migration change in NEWS
authorHrvoje Ribicic <riba@google.com>
Wed, 10 Jun 2015 11:51:28 +0000 (13:51 +0200)
committerHrvoje Ribicic <riba@google.com>
Thu, 11 Jun 2015 14:23:24 +0000 (16:23 +0200)
This patch adds information about the xl migration change to the NEWS
file.

Signed-off-by: Hrvoje Ribicic <riba@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Klaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>

NEWS

diff --git a/NEWS b/NEWS
index 7cffc2e..39bdf49 100644 (file)
--- a/NEWS
+++ b/NEWS
@@ -2,6 +2,25 @@ News
 ====
 
 
+Version 2.13.1
+--------------
+
+*(unreleased)*
+
+Incompatible/important changes
+~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
+
+- The SSH security changes reduced the number of nodes which can SSH into
+  other nodes. Unfortunately enough, the Ganeti implementation of migration
+  for the xl stack of Xen required SSH to be able to migrate the instance,
+  leading to a situation where full movement of an instance around the cluster
+  was not possible. This version fixes the issue by using socat to transfer
+  instance data. While socat is less secure than SSH, it is about as secure as
+  xm migrations, and occurs over the secondary network if present. As a
+  consequence of this change, Xen instance migrations using xl cannot occur
+  between nodes running 2.13.0 and 2.13.1.
+
+
 Version 2.13.0
 --------------