Update harep's man page to notify users of its limitations
authorPetr Pudlak <pudlak@google.com>
Tue, 29 Sep 2015 12:04:11 +0000 (14:04 +0200)
committerPetr Pudlak <pudlak@google.com>
Tue, 29 Sep 2015 14:26:50 +0000 (16:26 +0200)
In particular that it works only for 'drbd' and 'plain', and that it
doesn't perform hardware failure detection, which are both common user
expectations.

Signed-off-by: Petr Pudlak <pudlak@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Klaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>

man/harep.rst

index 5b38035..86f353b 100644 (file)
@@ -65,6 +65,18 @@ the cluster has both ``fix-storage`` and ``reinstall``.
 The I1 instance will be allowed to ``failover``, the I2 instance only to
 ``fix-storage``.
 
+LIMITATIONS
+-----------
+
+Harep doesn't do any hardware failure detection on its own, it relies on
+nodes being marked as offline by the administrator.
+
+Also harep currently works only for instances with the ``drbd`` and
+``plain`` disk templates.
+
+Both these issues will be addressed by a new maintenance daemon in
+future Ganeti versions, which will supersede harep.
+
 
 OPTIONS
 -------