Mention manual creation of {shared,}file paths in UPGRADE
authorHelga Velroyen <helgav@google.com>
Thu, 15 Oct 2015 14:11:33 +0000 (16:11 +0200)
committerHelga Velroyen <helgav@google.com>
Fri, 16 Oct 2015 07:11:43 +0000 (09:11 +0200)
This fixes Issue 653. It was unclear whether or not
'ensure-dirs' creates the directories for file and
sharedfile storage. This patch extends the documentation
to clarify this.

Signed-off-by: Helga Velroyen <helgav@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Oleg Ponomarev <oponomarev@google.com>

UPGRADE

diff --git a/UPGRADE b/UPGRADE
index 18efd65..43e62b7 100644 (file)
--- a/UPGRADE
+++ b/UPGRADE
@@ -135,6 +135,10 @@ To run commands on all nodes, the `distributed shell (dsh)
 
     $ /usr/lib/ganeti/ensure-dirs --full-run
 
 
     $ /usr/lib/ganeti/ensure-dirs --full-run
 
+   Note that ensure-dirs does not create the directories for file
+   and shared-file storage. This is due to security reasons. They need
+   to be created manually. For details see ``man gnt-cluster``. 
+
 #. Create the (missing) required users and make users part of the required
    groups on all nodes::
 
 #. Create the (missing) required users and make users part of the required
    groups on all nodes::