Update tag limitations
authorKlaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>
Fri, 17 Apr 2015 16:54:22 +0000 (18:54 +0200)
committerKlaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>
Fri, 17 Apr 2015 17:07:01 +0000 (19:07 +0200)
We always supported underscores in tags since \w in pythons
interpretation of regular expressions does include the underscore.
While this might have happened by accident, there is no reason to
change the implementation. The motivation for the restriction
was to avoid accidents with wrong (manual) shell escaping; the
underscore, however, has no special meaning to the shell. So
just make the documentation say what we implemented.

Signed-off-by: Klaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Petr Pudlak <pudlak@google.com>

doc/admin.rst

index 9fa505f..30c5e8b 100644 (file)
@@ -1533,7 +1533,7 @@ Limitations
 Note that the set of characters present in a tag and the maximum tag
 length are restricted. Currently the maximum length is 128 characters,
 there can be at most 4096 tags per object, and the set of characters is
-comprised by alphanumeric characters and additionally ``.+*/:@-``.
+comprised by alphanumeric characters and additionally ``.+*/:@-_``.
 
 Operations
 ++++++++++