Document quoting of special values in key-value parameters
authorKlaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>
Tue, 1 Sep 2015 13:23:41 +0000 (15:23 +0200)
committerKlaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>
Tue, 1 Sep 2015 13:36:47 +0000 (15:36 +0200)
Since the early days of Ganeti, it is possible to pass in key-value
parameters also some special non-string values (the two boolean values
True and False and the special value None). However, the syntax for
entering them was never properly documented confusing people who had
to pass one of those values. So document it now.

Signed-off-by: Klaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Petr Pudlak <pudlak@google.com>

man/ganeti.rst

index 153cd23..4024ed1 100644 (file)
@@ -334,6 +334,13 @@ behaviour)::
   # gnt-instance modify -H kernel_path=an\\,example instance1
   # gnt-instance modify -H kernel_path='an\,example' instance1
 
   # gnt-instance modify -H kernel_path=an\\,example instance1
   # gnt-instance modify -H kernel_path='an\,example' instance1
 
+Additionally, the following non-string parameters can be passed. To
+pass the boolean value ``True``, only mention the key (leaving out the
+equality sign and any value). To pass the boolean value ``False``,
+again only mention the key, but prefix it with ``no_``. To pass the
+special ``None`` value, again only mention the key, but prefix it with
+a single ``-`` sign.
+
 Query filters
 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 
 Query filters
 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~