Support /var/run being a symlink in upload
authorThomas Thrainer <thomasth@google.com>
Mon, 6 May 2013 13:10:00 +0000 (15:10 +0200)
committerThomas Thrainer <thomasth@google.com>
Tue, 7 May 2013 07:30:12 +0000 (09:30 +0200)
Starting from Debian Wheezy, /var/run is a symlink to /run. If rsync
does not treat receiving symlinks to directories as directories, it
would remove the original symlink and create a new, empty directory
where only the files to sync are put in. In the case of /var/run, this
behavior severly impacts the running system (as, for example, several
PID can't be found anymore).

This is a cherry-pick of commit 412e738.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Thrainer <thomasth@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Klaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>

devel/upload

index 8e6cb67..8a897a5 100755 (executable)
@@ -130,7 +130,7 @@ echo ---
 # and now put it under $prefix on the target node(s)
 for host; do
   echo Uploading code to ${host}...
 # and now put it under $prefix on the target node(s)
 for host; do
   echo Uploading code to ${host}...
-  rsync -v -rlDc \
+  rsync -v -rlKDc \
     -e "ssh -oBatchMode=yes" \
     --exclude="*.py[oc]" --exclude="*.pdf" --exclude="*.html" \
     "$TXD/" \
     -e "ssh -oBatchMode=yes" \
     --exclude="*.py[oc]" --exclude="*.pdf" --exclude="*.html" \
     "$TXD/" \