Document the decission why optimisation is turned off
authorKlaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>
Thu, 19 Nov 2015 13:27:03 +0000 (14:27 +0100)
committerKlaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>
Thu, 19 Nov 2015 13:59:01 +0000 (14:59 +0100)
Commit c22a35 removed an argument of readJSONWithDesc which
caused some versions of ghc to go too crazy in optimising,
so it had to be turned off for some files. Document that reason
in a comment.

Signed-off-by: Klaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Lisa Velden <velden@google.com>

src/Ganeti/Objects/Instance.hs
src/Ganeti/OpCodes.hs

index e312983..fb35f65 100644 (file)
@@ -1,5 +1,7 @@
 {-# LANGUAGE TemplateHaskell, FunctionalDependencies #-}
 {-# OPTIONS_GHC -O0 #-}
+-- We have to disable optimisation here, as some versions of ghc otherwise
+-- fail to compile this code, at least within reasonable memory limits (40g).
 
 {-| Implementation of the Ganeti Instance config object.
 
index c6ffa5d..8e4f7c0 100644 (file)
@@ -1,5 +1,7 @@
 {-# LANGUAGE ExistentialQuantification, TemplateHaskell, StandaloneDeriving #-}
 {-# OPTIONS_GHC -fno-warn-orphans -O0 #-}
+-- We have to disable optimisation here, as some versions of ghc otherwise
+-- fail to compile this code, at least within reasonable memory limits (40g).
 
 {-| Implementation of the opcodes.