Make documentation for -H serial_console more explicit
authorLisa Velden <velden@google.com>
Tue, 21 Jul 2015 12:34:42 +0000 (14:34 +0200)
committerLisa Velden <velden@google.com>
Tue, 21 Jul 2015 12:38:30 +0000 (14:38 +0200)
Mention that apart from enabling the emulation of a serial port in KVM
"console=ttyS0,<serial_speed>" is appended to the end of kernel_args.

Signed-off-by: Lisa Velden <velden@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Klaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>

man/gnt-instance.rst

index e61c31c..4904bf6 100644 (file)
@@ -528,7 +528,7 @@ kernel\_args
     Valid for the Xen PVM and KVM hypervisors.
 
     This options specifies extra arguments to the kernel that will be
-    loaded. device. This is always used for Xen PVM, while for KVM it
+    loaded. This is always used for Xen PVM, while for KVM it
     is only used if the ``kernel_path`` option is also specified.
 
     The default setting for this value is simply ``"ro"``, which
@@ -536,6 +536,9 @@ kernel\_args
     setting this to single will cause the instance to start in
     single-user mode.
 
+    Note that the hypervisor setting ``serial_console`` appends
+    ``"console=ttyS0,<serial_speed>"`` to the end of ``kernel_args`` in KVM.
+
 initrd\_path
     Valid for the Xen PVM and KVM hypervisors.
 
@@ -567,6 +570,10 @@ serial\_console
     instance's startup. For such case it's recommended to disable this
     option, which is enabled by default.
 
+    Enabling serial console emulation also appends
+    ``"console=ttyS0,<serial_speed>"`` to the end of ``kernel_args`` in KVM and
+    may infere with previous settings.
+
 serial\_speed
     Valid for the KVM hypervisor.