Add patching QA configuration files on buildbots
authorPetr Pudlak <pudlak@google.com>
Thu, 21 Nov 2013 14:06:41 +0000 (15:06 +0100)
committerPetr Pudlak <pudlak@google.com>
Fri, 22 Nov 2013 13:48:11 +0000 (14:48 +0100)
commite5398c3afde43e9165e96ab5cc8e0426519ad8ad
tree629bbbe47491c22795912ebd48c78be11232f4c1
parent2ca1b52d768453d8596270a96c06e3966959320e
Add patching QA configuration files on buildbots

In order to work, it is necessary:
* Write a JSON Patch to file "qa/qa-patch.json" in a source repository.
  (And be careful not to commit it!) The file must conform to RFC6902
  and describes what changes should be done to the QA JSON
  configuration. This is simple as
   [
     { "op": "add",
       "path": "default",
       "value": false },
     { "op": "add",
       "path": "/tests/instance-add-file",
       "value": true }
   ]

* Install "jsonpatch" and "jsonpointer" modules on the machines QA is
  running on. Either using "easy_install" or as Debian packages using
  "pypi-install".

QA only loads the modules if the patch file is present and non-empty.
Therefore no changes to buildbots are needed, if the feature is not
used.

It's advisable to add a git pre-commit hook for the main repository to
prevent changes to "qa/patch.json", keeping it to "[]". Suggestion for
such a hook:

  # Exit code 1 if the patch file isn't just "[]":
  python -c 'import json, sys; \
    exit(0 if json.load(open("qa/qa-patch.json", "r")) == [] else 1)'

Locally it's possible to tell git not to track changes to the file at
all (see https://help.github.com/articles/ignoring-files):

  git update-index --assume-unchanged qa/qa-patch.json

Signed-off-by: Petr Pudlak <pudlak@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Klaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>
qa/qa-patch.json [new file with mode: 0644]
qa/qa_config.py