Send messages as Strings
authorKlaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>
Mon, 30 Nov 2015 14:19:38 +0000 (15:19 +0100)
committerKlaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>
Tue, 12 Jan 2016 09:17:35 +0000 (10:17 +0100)
commitb0a7e3771bfd84f6f01f5e248d8fd971ba549cc9
treeb9b8b45606e5f9d56226192ea0ec1084feb8e702
parent23503aeb814cd08a79aab93af7d00e79221ccd92
Send messages as Strings

ByteStrings are a more compact representation of a sequence of octets
than are Strings. However, converting a String into a ByteString, even
a lazy one, looks at a huge number of characters before the first goes
out of scope; thus the String gets enforced effectively. As Strings,
as a list of unicode characters, have a quite memory-intense representation,
this loss of lazyness results in a memory spike that is quite significant,
at least for restricted environments like a Xen dom0, when sending the
whole Ganeti configuration.

Therefore, send messages as String over the wire to preserve lazyness.
This is sound, as our JSON representation is 7-bit clean, and hence
every character coincides with its UTF8 encoding. On a larger cluster,
this saved an order of magnitude in peak memory usage.

Signed-off-by: Klaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Lisa Velden <velden@google.com>
src/Ganeti/UDSServer.hs