After TestNodeModify, fix the pool of master candidates
authorKlaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>
Tue, 22 Dec 2015 11:35:40 +0000 (12:35 +0100)
committerKlaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>
Thu, 7 Jan 2016 11:40:48 +0000 (12:40 +0100)
commit38712d42e11521424d320272324abe4fad8892d0
tree3d9f8b7c539697ce888dcf34e083322e77247a18
parent625c8ea5f8b1505ce721880c9517cc5abf949437
After TestNodeModify, fix the pool of master candidates

The test TestNodeModify temporarily modifies the cluster parameter
candidate-pool-size, which controls the minimal desirable number of
master candidates. Depending on the size of the test cluster, this
temporary modification can be a decrease (for clusters with up to 10
nodes) or an increase (for clusters with 12 or more nodes). Ganeti's
behavior upon change of the candidate pool size is to promote nodes to
master candidates upon increase, but do nothing upon decrease. This is
a safe behavior, as too many master candidates is not a problem; the
chance of data loss is even smaller. However, it means that the test
has a size effect of, for large test cluster, increasing the actual
number of nodes that are master candidates. While not a problem for
correctness, this side effect does affect our performance tests (which
usually are run after the functional tests) as more master candidates
means more nodes to replicate information to.

Signed-off-by: Klaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Helga Velroyen <helgav@google.com>
qa/qa_node.py