Query.Exec: Describe error if talking to job process fails
authorNiklas Hambuechen <niklash@google.com>
Thu, 7 Aug 2014 17:17:14 +0000 (19:17 +0200)
committerPetr Pudlak <pudlak@google.com>
Tue, 17 Mar 2015 17:48:27 +0000 (18:48 +0100)
commit322660411db0fe99376fa2ba6d5a572254f9f57e
treed63366a6ab0c88b11d5d48c6c7b7e3b5340a0f6d
parent20acb8112c203e70f95aed817b6c3a2976052f41
Query.Exec: Describe error if talking to job process fails

When the forked (Python) job process dies for any reason, then the next `read`
from its pipe will fail, giving an unhelpful error like:

   GenericError "<file descriptor: 13>: hWaitForInput: end of file"

This message is also returned to whoever started the job, e.g. a CLI or RAPI
invocation. It does not say more than "in some server using some FD failed",
which doesn't help tracking down the issue.

This commit makes the error location more descriptive, turning it into
either of:

  "<file descriptor: 13>: ganeti job process input pipe: end of file
  "<file descriptor: 13>: ganeti job process output pipe: end of file

Signed-off-by: Niklas Hambuechen <niklash@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Klaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Klaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>

Conflicts:
src/Ganeti/Query/Exec.hs - merge changes from both branches

Cherry-picked-from: 2823704fac79b11d1990fce9366375e145cb8f88
Signed-off-by: Petr Pudlak <pudlak@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Klaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>
src/Ganeti/Query/Exec.hs