Improve hspace shrinking strategy
authorKlaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>
Fri, 14 Jun 2013 13:48:47 +0000 (15:48 +0200)
committerKlaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>
Mon, 17 Jun 2013 14:36:53 +0000 (16:36 +0200)
commit20d2476e0c58061a3ce016dd9b37e3e369dba26b
tree354c5543b8e629e7b1146ca6074760bbadef052c
parentb1c772fdd7ac5e294f2223b4f4761e9abf395951
Improve hspace shrinking strategy

In tired allocation, hspace shrinks that resource of the instance
next, that causes failure on most nodes. While, this is not a bad
strategy in general, it can lead hspace into a dead end if for a large
number of nodes a particular resource blocks any further allocation of
policy compliant instances. So we improve the heuristics in that it
chooses to shrink such a resource next where by shrinking only this
resource a valid allocation can be made, if such a resource
exists. This improves the results in some cases, while still keeping
the computational complexity of the algorithm low.

Signed-off-by: Klaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Michele Tartara <mtartara@google.com>
src/Ganeti/HTools/Cluster.hs