Revert "Also consider connection time out a network error"
authorKlaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>
Tue, 10 Nov 2015 16:47:44 +0000 (17:47 +0100)
committerKlaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>
Wed, 11 Nov 2015 09:28:03 +0000 (10:28 +0100)
commit0c401deb436fdf7011b70ebe16e331c3e4ef1081
tree0d1dd923051c5f63a504544d987703482fd71b6b
parent16eadcfc5582f676a9561dd75675c31c8a823ba9
Revert "Also consider connection time out a network error"

This reverts commit 84c17185ad47070944c64ab64a8c7dfd60a260f9.
We use RetryOnNetworkError for basically every form of internal
communication. While it makes sense to retry---given that we
assume daemons might come and go at any time---we can only do
so safely, if we positively know that we did not cause any
side effect. Given that not all our requests are idempotent
(e.g., submitting jobs is not)---in fact, the majority is
not--, retrying on timeouts is not safe.

Signed-off-by: Klaus Aehlig <aehlig@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Hrvoje Ribicic <riba@google.com>
lib/rpc/transport.py